hangouts photos sent to me
When you click a photo in the Hangout history you will be sent to an URL that looks like https://plus.google.com/u/0/photos/albums/string-1?pid=string-2&oid=string-3. To be taken to the album just delete ? and all the characters to the right of it. The resulting URL will look like this:
The photos owned by the user uploaded through Hangouts conversation can’t be seen from Google Photos (http://photos.google.com), only on the owner Google Album Archive.
(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || ).push(<>);
To access photos shared in Google Hangouts :
When you share a photo in a Google Hangout chat or take a photo in a video call it is added to a shared photo album that is visible to you and anyone else in the Hangout.
You can see all your albums there, including your Hangouts albums
Apparently not. After doing a little digging, Robert was able to demonstrate that these privately shared links are publicly accessible from any Google account, or even if you’re not logged into Google at all – as shown when he was able to access a “private” shared link from an Incognito browser window.
Robert details the complete issue in a post over on Medium. About the video above, he says…
We discovered that all images shared via a Google Hangout Chat are not private to the parties on the hangout/chat! It turns out, anyone can view any images you share via Hangout without any sweat. This is the proof;
Naturally we tested this theory a few more times and proved to be true. So we reached out to Google through the Google Vulnerability Reward Program and reported the issue convinced it was worth looking into. After a few days, we were made aware that this is not a security issue at all! We were told that this was not a security bug but basically how Google Hangout Works